Class Council

Each DDS year has a class council comprised student leaders elected by their respective peers at the end of each academic year (DDS1 class will hold elections in the beginning of September). The goal of class council is to represent and advocate on behalf of the class regarding academic and clinical needs as well as planning class social gatherings and new initiatives. The tenure of these positions are held for one year with the exception of ODA, Yearbook, Dentantics, and IPE representatives which are held for four years. For more information regarding responsibilities and details of each position, please visit the DSS Constitution and By-Laws.

President acts as representative for the class and oversees the activities of the class council. Numerous responsibilities including, but not limited to, representing the class at student/ faculty meetings, sitting on various different committees at school, organizing/ helping to organize many different events throughout the year, listening to class suggestions/concerns and relaying them to the faculty, and attending monthly DSS meetings as a DSS council member.

Vice-President facilitates the president’s job. Duties include being responsible for all things related to clinic (or lab for first and second years), attending student/faculty meetings with the president, helping in organizing the different class events, and filling in for the president when he/she is absent from a meeting.

Treasurer/Secretary duties include maintaining the official class bulletin board, scheduling class council meetings, taking minutes at class council meetings, and relaying them to the class, managing the class funds, and signing and depositing cheques to the designated bank account

Academic Representative represents/ communicates class academic concerns to the respective course professors. Record and post lectures (with lecturer permission). Maintain weekly academic schedules.

Community Representative responsible for organizing/announcing community related events, while working closely with the DSS community representative

Hype Representative (Formerly DDS Representative) responsible for organizing and setting-up DSS awards night. Responsible for communicating and organizing attendance of class events (ie. CDSPI, Protect Insurance).

Social Representative responsible for organizing social activities for the class; whether it be a club night, bowling night, BBQ night etc. Also works closely with the DSS VPs to help organize and run school wide activities throughout the year.

Sports Representative responsible for promoting sports teams and sporting events during the year. Also works closely with the DSS Athletics Directors in running the various activities throughout the year

Ontario Dental Association (ODA) Representative responsible for advising Council and classes on matters relating to the ODA and liaising with the ODA as necessary. Also, helps the Sports Representatives with organizing the ODA cup.

Yearbook Representatives (2 positions) responsible for organizing, designing, and writing their class’s section of the yearbook each year. Also, attends as many social events as possible to captures those special moments on camera. In DDS4, yearbook representatives become yearbook editors

Dentantics Representatives (2 positions) responsible for organizes their respective class’s piece(s) in Dentantics in DDS1 and DDS2, organizing and hosting the annual Dentantics show in DDS3.

Interprofessional Education (IPE) Representative responsible for working with main campus as well as IPE Representatives from other faculties to organize and inform classmate about annual IPE events and electives, which are required for graduation

Federation of Canadian Dental Students’ Associations (FCDSA) Representative (not available for DDS1)

DDS4 Class Council
Position Name Email
President Eric Moryoussef Eric.Moryoussef@mail.utoronto.ca
Vice President Kelsey Motomura Kelsey.Motomura@mail.utoronto.ca
Secretary Joshua Raisin joshua.raisin@mail.utoronto.ca
Erin Landman erin.landman@mail.utoronto.ca
Academic Representative Armita Dehmoobadsharifabadi armita.dehmoobadsharifabad@alum.utoronto.ca
Social Representative Andrew Hall andrewdavid.hall@mail.utoronto.ca
Sports Representative Matteson Marinovich matt.marinovich@mail.utoronto.ca
Hype Representative Colette Mascarenhas Colette.Mascarenhas@mail.utoronto.ca
Community Representative Kelli Stein  kelli.stein@mail.utoronto.ca
ODA Representative Katie Chung katie.chung@mail.utoronto.ca
FCDSA Representative Julie Delcorde julie.delcorde@mail.utoronto.ca
IPE Representative Armita Dehmoobadsharifabadi armita.dehmoobadsharifabad@alum.utoronto.ca
Yearbook Representative Jenny Hong jenny.hong@mail.utoronto.ca
Katherine Kazak Katherine.Kazak@mail.utoronto.ca
Dentantics Representative Irina Baranova i.baranova@mail.utoronto.ca
Grad Formal Representative Erin Landman erin.perry@mail.utoronto.ca
Colette Mascarenhas Colette.Mascarenhas@mail.utoronto.ca
Kiran Gosal  kiran.gosal@mail.utoronto.ca

 

DDS3 Class Council
Position Name Email
President Cameron Goertzen cameron.goertzen@mail.utoronto.ca
Vice President Jonathan Yu jonathankw.yu@mail.utoronto.ca
Secretary Danielle Taylor daniellelisa.taylor@mail.utoronto.ca
Academic Representative Richard He ric.he@mail.utoronto.ca
Social Representative Parnian Soleimani parnian.mirzasoleimanbarzi@mail.utoronto.ca
Sports Representative Saman Rahbar sam.rahbar@mail.utoronto.ca
Hype Representative Miriam Cohen miriam.dick@mail.utoronto.ca
Community Representative Jackie Mamedova jackie.mamedova@mail.utoronto.ca
ODA Representative Hyunjee (Jamie) Ro hyunjee.ro@mail.utoronto.ca
FCDSA Representative Keyvan Tcherassen keyvan.tcherassen@mail.utoronto.ca
IPE Representative Amanda Vincci Chiu amandavincci.chiu@mail.utoronto.ca
Yearbook Representative Rosalind Law rosalind.law@mail.utoronto.ca
Harriet Law harriet.law@mail.utoronto.ca
Dentantics Representative Ryan Noh ryan.noh@mail.utoronto.ca
Melody Yao melody.yao@mail.utoronto.ca

 

DDS2 Class Council
Position Name Email
President Tracy Tang trace.tang@mail.utoronto.ca
Vice President Mike Gardi michael.gardi@mail.utoronto.ca
Secretary Phoenix Zhang phoenix.zhang@mail.utoronto.ca
Academic Representative Daniel Greenspan d.greenspan@mail.utoronto.ca
Social Representative Elizabeth Worndl elizabeth.worndl@mail.utoronto.ca
Sports Representative Brandon Lum brandon.lum@mail.utoronto.ca
Hype Representative Raheel Sheikh raheel.sheikh@mail.utoronto.ca
Community Representative Jenny Luo  jenny.luo@mail.utoronto.ca
ODA Representative Linda Ha linda.ha@mail.utoronto.ca
FCDSA Representative
IPE Representative Sonia sonia.huang@mail.utoronto.ca
Yearbook Representative Haley haley.frydrych@mail.utoronto.ca
Sharice sharice.molko@mail.utoronto.ca
Dentantics Representative Alina Phen alina.phen@mail.utoronto.ca
NIma Khosraviani nima.khosraviani@mail.utoronto.ca

 

DDS1 Class Council
Position Name Email
President Laura Sliwkanich laura.sliwkanich@mail.utoronto.ca
Vice President Jeremy Ho jeremykc.ho@mail.utoronto.ca
Secretary Susie Son Susie.son@mail.utoronto.ca
Academic Representative Madonna Rofaeel madonna.rofaeel@mail.utoronto.ca
Social Representative Julia Diamandakos julia.diamandakos@mail.utoronto.ca
Sports Representative Sam Saljoughian sam.saljoughian@mail.utoronto.ca
Hype Representative Zaheed Shivji Zaheed.shivji@mail.utoronto.ca
Community Representative Madelaine Jong madelaine.jong@mail.utoronto.ca
ODA Representative Richard Nguyen Richard.nguyen@mail.utoronto.ca
IPE Representative Wayne Fang waynecheng.fang@mail.utoronto.ca
Yearbook Representative David Hu dav.hu@mail.utoronto.ca
Paul Wu pohan.wu@mail.utoronto.ca
Dentantics Representative Evan Benak evan.benak@mail.utoronto.ca
Brooke-Lynn Pettigrew brookelyn.pettigrew@mail.utoronto.ca